CMPDD Board Elects New Officers

At their June meeting, the CMPDD Board of Directors elected Madison County businessman James P. Archer as President for a two year term. Also elected to offices were Yazoo County Supervisor Cobie Collins as Vice-President, and Jackson City Councilman Quentin Whitwell as Secretary-Treasurer. Pelahatchie Mayor Knox Ross will become Immediate Past President and continue to serve on both the Steering Committee and the Board of Directors. Mayor Ross was also recently elected as Chairman of the Metropolitan Planning Organization, which guides transportation planning and funding in the metropolitan area. This was the second time that Mayor Ross has served as President of the Board. In his first act as President, Mr. Archer thanked Mayor Ross for his continued and valuable leadership and presented him with a clock from the Board of Directors to thank him for “the extra time” he had given the Board as their President. President Archer noted Mayor’s Ross new leadership role on the Metropolitan Planning Organization and thanked him for his dedication to the District and his continued involvement and participation. Mr. Archer is a resident of the City of Madison and a Madison County appointee to the CMPDD Board. He is the retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Jackson Newell Paper Company in Jackson and donates his time to a great many organizations, such as the Willowood Development Center, the Community Nursing Home, the Jackson Central Lions Club. He and his wife Dean are active members of First Baptist Church of Jackson, the parents of two boys and the grandparents of five.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.
1020 Centre Pointe Blvd Pearl, MS 39208 Title VI Site Map Webmail Contact